get help

Get Help

Get Help


Find Resources

Get help for workplace discrimination, family law, violence or sexual assault, healthcare, and more.

Learn More Right Arrow An arrow pointing to the right

The prestigious Women of Power & Influence Awards celebrates the achievements of extraordinary women in government, finance, entrepreneurship, technology, law and business.  Every year since 1988, our Women of Power & Influence Awards gala has honored women who have made great strides in redefining leadership and are changing the way our country thinks about women in the workplace.

Heralding the women leaders among us

Many of our awardees have boldly forged their way to the top of their industries breaking barriers along the way and have made their mark as pioneers and role models.

“Ever since Betty Friedan inscribed the letters N O W on a napkin, NOW has advanced women’s rights. It has made possible the successes of all of tonight’s awardees. Personally, I owe a special debt of gratitude. Without NOW’s support, and that of other women’s groups, I doubt that I would have been Chair of the Federal Reserve.”

– Dr. Janet L. Yellen

About our event

Held at a premier New York City venue, the event is attended by over 400 leaders from the worlds of finance, business, and law, and supported by many Fortune 500 companies.

The proceeds from this annual dinner gala support NOW-NYC and Women’s Justice NOW in the critical work of advocating for and improving the lives of New York women and girls.

Alumnae Include:

Michelle H. Browdy

Michelle H. Browdy is the General Counsel and Senior Vice President of Legal and Regulatory Affairs at IBM. Previously, Ms. Browdy served as Secretary to IBM's Board of Directors and headed IBM's worldwide litigation, overseeing the company's legal functions globally.

Gretchen Carlson

Gretchen Carlson was named one of TIME Magazine’s 100 most influential people in the world and is a 20-year veteran of television news. Ms. Carlson is credited with ushering in a new era of workplace sexual harassment accountability and has traveled the country empowering women to be the change makers to lead our culture forward.

Liz Elting

Liz Elting is a philanthropist and businesswoman, recognized for her outstanding entrepreneurship and focus on developing women business leaders. Ms. Elting co-founded TransPerfect, the world’s largest provider of language and business solutions.

Linda Findley Kozlowski

Linda Findley Kozlowski is President and Chief Executive Officer of Blue Apron. Ms. Findley Kozlowski also serves and a member of the company's Board of Directors. Before joining Blue Apron in April 2019, she served as Chief Operating Officer of Etsy, Inc. where she held responsibilities for product, marketing and customer engagement and acquisition.

Karen Halby

Karen Halby is Senior Vice President and Head of Global Tax at Sony Corporation. As a member of Sony's executive leadership and the first woman in this global executive role, Ms. Halby has implemented the company's first centralized tax department.

Kimberley D. Harris

Kimberley D. Harris is Executive Vice President and General Counsel at NBCUniversal. She served as a Deputy White House Counsel during the Obama administration. Ms. Harris is also a member of the National Women's Law Center Leadership 35 Committee.

Elinor L. Hoover

Elinor L. Hoover is the Global Co-Head of the Consumer Products Group in Citi’s Corporate and Investment Banking division. Ms. Hoover serves as Vice Chairman of Capital Markets Origination at Citi. She is a key member of the Management Committee of Citi’s Corporate and Investment Banking group and coheads the division’s Diversity Committee.

Rachel Maddow

Rachel Maddow hosts the Emmy Award-winning and top-rated The Rachel Maddow Show on MSNBC and is the first openly gay journalist to anchor a major U.S. news program. She is the author of "Drift: The Unmooring of American Military Power" and "Blowout: Corrupted Democracy, Rogue State Russia, and the Richest, Most Destructive Industry on Earth," both of which debuted at #1 on the New York Times bestsellers list.

Raj Seshadri

Dr. Raj Seshadri is President of Data and Services at Mastercard and a member of the company's Global Management Committee. She serves on the Boards of the American India Foundation, SAYA!, Mount Holyoke College, and Stanford Graduate School of Business.

Mary Jo White

Mary Jo White served as the 31st Chair of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission during the Obama administration. Under her leadership, the Commission's strengthened protections for investors and markets through transformative rule-makings that addressed major issues raised by the financial crisis. She is currently a Senior Chair at Debevoise & Plimpton.

Janet Yellen

Dr. Janet Yellen is the immediate past Chair of the U.S. Federal Reserve, appointed by former President Barack Obama. She is the first and only woman to assume this rank in U.S. history. Dr. Yellen serves as a Distinguished Fellow in Residence with the Economic Studies Program at the Brookings Institution.